in ,

Eco has just released his highly anticipated album ‘Wolves’

Over three years in the making, Eco’s sophomore album “Wolves” is out now.

If there was one artist operating in the trance field that was going to take a more introspective, existential route to their first album, it was likely him.

Concept albums come in many forms, but few – if any – start with the publication of a book.

Today sees not only the release of ‘Wolves’ the album, but also ‘Wolves’ the paperback.

Most albums have ‘a story’, but perhaps not to quite the same degree as Eco’s ‘Wolves’. Dealing with (as the New Jersey-ite puts it) “a child who is no longer satisfied with the time & place he finds himself in and decides to embrace wilderness”, it is, in part, an allegory of his disillusionment. Moreover though it’s a concerted attempt to confront it and improve it.

Musically, the album tracks the arc of the ‘Wolves’ novella. Reading at roughly the same pace as it (pause-free) plays, its titles, music and lyrics, in effect, ‘illustrate’ the book. Using the wolf motif, it deals with the highs, lows, and varying trials and tribulations the boy faces. In doing so, it provides a rarely – if ever before – experienced adjunct to a music album. While the story is personal to Marcello, it’s also one that will very likely resonate with fans within the scene.

To further the album’s Odyssey-like journey to completion, Eco picked up and learnt instruments he’d never previously touched (most notably, the guitar, which is prevalent in several tracks).

He was also intimately involved in all facets of the concept album: writing song lyrics, creating the artwork and clothing line, as well as curating the accompanying films, and working closely with the author of the written story.

Musically, this album saw him collaborate with a wide range of talents such as Driftmoon, Jennifer Rene, Gordana Markovic, Chris Severe, and Ariah Noetzel.

More often though – as the absolute master of ‘Wolves’ destiny – he took its work upon himself.

The result is a release the likes of which has never been seen before, or may ever be again.

‘Wolves’ by Eco is out now.

Grab your copy of the album here.

Grab the paperback here.

01. Darkness In The Light
02. The Rain (with Ariah Noetzel)
03. Trust In The Wind (with Driftmoon)
04. Dogs
05. River Song
06. Soar
07. Slow Rising Sun (with Gordana Markovic)
08. Cloud [Part 1] (with Chris Severe)
09. Cloud [Part 2] (with Chris Severe)
10. If I Survive (I’ll Worship The Moon)
11. No Ceilings
12. It’ll All Make Sense One Day
13. Wolves
14. Running (with Jennifer Rene)
15. The Lonely Soldier

What do you think?

Written by Miguel Ramirez

My name is Miguel, and i'm a trance addict.

Watch MaRLo’s spectacular set from Altitude Sydney

Above & Beyond has featured Australia’s Marcus Santoro on today’s episode of ABGT